Trish
McCourt
Real name: 

Main profile

Author Profile: 

 

I am interested in the pursuit of bettering our lives.  I like to write about issues & activities of interest to me, sometimes doing advocacy work, sometimes to express myself personally. I also post samples of my amateur photography on my blog.

I have just completed my studies for my post-degree bachelor of Social Work. My two beautiful school-aged girlies and I live in Nova Scotia since July of 2006, after having moved around Canada. :)   My time has been filled with parenting, studying, and triathlon training.

I am a divorcee, now married to a really good man who parents my children as if they are his own.

I have recently started my own business as Director of Mommy Connections Halifax/Dartmouth chapter. :-) http://www.mommyconnections.ca/halifax 

I have a broad range of interests,  but some of the things most important to me include: supporting the Canadian Diabetes Association, doing Team Diabetes events; cancer research; grief; scrapbooking; reading; running; social justice issues of a big range (i.e. poverty, early childhood education, family issues, woman abuse, family violence, child birth options, breastfeeding, healthy relationships, active transportation, sustainable environmental practises, and political reform); parenting; and balance work with life…

I am currently a registered Social Worker Candidate in Nova Scotia – my focus of interest being community organizing.  I was previously an early childhood educator, child care centre director, and interim director of two not-for-profit agencies (family resource centre and women & children’s transition house).  Early learning & care, family, and women’s issues are all very close to my heart.

I have fibromyalgia, but when I feel well enough I love to run, cycle, and swim. I have participated in a variety of running and triathlon events, all for the love of being active.

About my kids: 
2 girls age 8 & 11
Parenting is...: 
Challenging, fun, exhausting, frustrating & rewarding.
We know you don't have a lot, but when you do, what do you like to do in your spare time?: 
Read, write, photography, scrapbook, walk, run, bike, swim...
When are you at your yummiest?: 
When I have just finished a race and met my goals.
If someone wrote a biography about you, what would be the title?: 
The woman who just wouldn't stop
What's currently in your purse?: 
Tablet, banking cards, clementines, bus passes, lip balm, receipts, movie passes, prepaid cell phone, gloves, hat, sunglasses, larabar, napkins, pen, hand sanitizer, wallet, hair elastics, business cards
What superhero power would you like to have?: 
Absolute focus
If we gave you an elephant, where would you hide it?: 
Under the deck